Tell Me What Are They

 

I

 

I see you rise up

the petal stairs of the rose

before taking to your wings.

You then waft, drift along the breeze.

Dainty damsel!

You are not of this world!

None sees you.

To all you’re neither a fairy nor a ghost

but the scent of the rose.

I delight for I see you

the fragrance of the flower ethereal.

 

II

 

You came to me in a nightmare

when stealthily you stepped out

of the fleshy corpse flower.

I wondered if you belonged to this world.

Such a macabre smell you are!

Let alone flying,

I saw you limping

on the ground.

so unsightly!

With carrion flies, beetles

following you.

Seems right companions for you!

Posted for Sanaa’s Prompt Nights: On Popular Demand – Lets gather around for some ghost stories – [8]

 

&

 

Shared with Poetry Pantry #316 @ Poets United

 

21 thoughts on “Tell Me What Are They

  1. It’s in the nose of the one who senses, I suppose, but you contrived to make me see both of them–the one who delights and the one who horrifies. I shall look closer next time I smell the roses!

  2. Whistles!! ❤️❤️ Oh my God, this is SO beautiful Sumana 😀 its truly a visual treat! Especially love the images of ‘rising up on the petal stairs of the rose’ and ‘to all you’re neither a fairy nor a ghost but the scent of the rose.’ Beautifully executed. Thank you so much for participating at Prompt Nights and for your constant love and support ❤️❤️

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

  3. I so love “the fragrance of the flower ethereal”…..and how vivid the second description, the creeping on the ground followed by bugs. Yikes! From fragrance to unpleasant smell, both captured vividly.

  4. Love the way in which you juxtaposed two polar opposites as symbolized in the two “flower” verses – so fresh and imaginative. And “petal stairs” (sigh) – wonderful! I can envision the term transitioning into the title of a poem … what a beautiful image.

  5. Luckily there is one in South Australia’s Botanic gardens in Adelaide. It doesn’t bloom every year but is one of the most popular attractions when it shows its willingness to do so. A single viewing (smelling) is usually enough.

  6. I wondered at the contrast in your two sections – until I scrolled further and saw your second picture! I haven’t seen (or smelled) one but I hear it’s quite an experience! Roses, however, are a joy in many ways.

  7. Oh my lol…the polar opposites of fragrant spirits….wonderful comparison…never thought of the scent being of spirit 😀 XXX

Thank You :)

