Mask

two-beautiful-masks-wide-i

Courtesy: A Dash Of Sunny

 

These days I put on a smiley face

to hide grief, sorrow etc. when I’m outside.

No one likes sadness. Rightly so.

I am happy so why isn’t everyone happy?

This may not be the attitude

all the time though.

Still I wonder

if everyone really loves

all to be happy .

Today a colleague invited me to her house

to have some chat; she has just returned

from the US where her daughter stays.

When she called

at first I half heartedly agreed.

My smiley mask was jubilant

as it found a job;

but then I refused

as I am suffering from bouts of allergies

and still on medication.

Moreover these days

I am sick and tired of ‘talks’.

The smiley spoke to me

in an unusual somber voice

“But you’re making her sad;

she wants to share

her happiness with you.”

Sorry, little emoticon

you have to be off

my face now.

I’m not in a dilemma.

What I’ve decided I’ve decided.

I would rather complete the poem

and stay in ‘my-space’

than talk, talk and talk

and listen, listen and listen

and pretend, pretend and pretend.

 

Posted for Sanaa’s Prompt Nights: On Popular Demand – Life is a masquerade. You never know who might be hiding behind a mask or façade – [10] over @ A Dash Of Sunny

&

Shared with Poetry Pantry @ Poets United

 

24 thoughts on “Mask

  1. Whistles!!💕💕This is absolutely gorgeous writing, Sumana. I strongly resonate with the fact that sometimes we just don’t feel like putting up with small talk, smiling when the heart is hurting and moreover, dealing with what life has put upon our plates. Especially touched by the lines; “I would rather complete the poem and stay in ‘my-space’ than talk, talk and talk and listen, listen and listen and pretend, pretend and pretend.” Beautifully penned. Thank you so much for participating at Prompt Nights and for your constant love and support 💕💕

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

  2. Sometimes it’s nice to be on one’s own and write a poem, even if one is not feeling sad. We have to look after ourselves sometimes, not only other people.

  3. Sumana, I understand what you are saying. Sometimes one gets tired of all that smiling and all of that talk and being there for other people. I think you have earned the right, at this point in your life, to do for YOU. If you wish to spend time with people, fine. If you wish to spend time in your own space, that is YOUR business! Smiles.

  4. While I agree with the sentiment there is a possibility that talking with another may take you mind off your own problems. They may even be sympathetic and understanding and while I agree about writing that need will never end as I find there is always another poem desperate to be born.

  5. “No one likes sadness.” It so unfortunate that ‘society’ does not like sadness. How is it possible to be happy all the time, more especially with all the ills in our world? I can relate to your narrative, Sumana and I guess we have to give ourselves permission to feel and do what is humanly possible. Such a sincere write, thank you!

  6. Those who said fake it until you make it must not have been talking about happiness. It doesn’t work like that. Happiness must come from something real. And yes, many times our friends do offer that bit of happy flame that ignites our jubilant fire. But other days… we must let the sadness and the gloom work its way through. It’s only human.

    I hope things are better now. And that the smiley and your heart are on the same page.

  7. Amen to that – i think this is a wonderful place to be ourselves – it’s strange how much more real we can perhaps be in the online world.. i also love the use of the emoticon reference

  8. I actually caught two Quakers discussing (on FB) which emoticon was best to use! “Sorry, little emoticon” is right! And “the smile” it is a role that gives something to the world–perhaps–so it is a role I often play willingly. Less and less lately, though. No guilt.

  9. You covered the topic very well …personally or creatively. My personal response to the argument is, “you win some, you lose some, but, you get dressed for them all”. 🙂 ❤

  10. This is so genuine, down to earth and honest. I can so relate. I have come to the point in my life where I have started to think of all the people (acquaintances) who have zigged and zagged through my days and – honestly – I find myself wondering: what was the point of it all. I now “choose” to spend time with family members – especially the little ones, as well as my husband: quality time, making memories. Beyond that, I read and write and listen to music and try to prepare a nice meal. One gets to the point where you have a “need” to keep life simple.

Thank You :)

